Copper pipes contacting each other

Users who are viewing this thread

Tipster1

Reaction score
IMG_5314 (800x600).jpgIMG_5316 (800x600).jpgAfter installation of a new hot water heater I noticed that the inflow and outflow pipes were pressing on each other where they crossed each other at about a 90 degree angle on top of the tank. (The heater is installed in the attic of a sea shore cottage). I also notice a corner (elbow) pressing on the outside of the heater. I contacted the plumbing contractor and was challenged, saying I should trust their installation since I had no credentials as a plumber. He was remarkably hostile. What do I know about craftsmanship and plumbing? etc. (I'm not a plumber, but I am a surgeon.) I then spoke to the owner who told me pipes should never contact each other and he would send someone out to fix it. Unfortunately, he sent the same man to whom I spoke initially. He once again tried to defend the work and basically dared me to make him to fix it. I chased him out, asked a neighbor who is a licensed plumber (and electrician, engineer, and steam fitter) and was told that crossing touching pipes was unacceptable for a variety of reasons. So I called the owner again and mentioned calling the local (New Jersey) plumbing inspector. He sent another man out who ALSO defended the installation, but offered to solder the pipes together where they contacted, so they wouldn't rub each other (I already had stuffed a piece of hose between the pipes.) I said no, re-do it with clearance and get the elbow off the tank while you're here. I don't want some future buyer's home inspectors making an issue about it. Then he said home inspectors don't know anything, but complied, grudgingly.

Question: Is it ever acceptable for pipes to contact each other and is soldering them together really an acceptable solution?:confused:

Bluebinky

Reaction score
Not a real plumber here, but I wouldn't want the one on the left. If it looks bad, it probably is.