Control wiring for backup/assist boiler

Users who are viewing this thread

Nathan Smith

Reaction score
I'm trying to determine how to set up controls for a two boiler setup. We have a Weil McLain ultra 310 boiler as the primary boiler. We have a older Weil McLain cast iron boiler as well. I'm trying to determine how to best do the controls so the CI boiler will act as an "assist" boiler when the demand is to great for the condensing boiler to keep up as well as have it revert to a back up boiler in the event the condenser should go down completely. Someone previously had the CI boiler as an assist only so if the condenser went down the CI wouldn't run either. I am an electrician so I'm very familiar with control wiring circuitry, just not sure what controls would most easily achieve my goal. Thought about using an aquastat on the return line to tell the CI to fire but with the modulating condenser that seems like it would fluctuate to much with the outdoor temp swings so the CI could be tricked into firing when it's just mild outdoor temps causing the lower water temp. Unless I monitor the outdoor temp in conjuction with the return water temp. Ideas??

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
I'm wondering what loads you have that would possibly outrun an Ultra 310. It that monster sized boiler in a house? That thing has enough boiler output to theoretically keep my house at 70F indoors when the outdoor temperature is within a few 10s of degrees of absolute zero (-459F).

Knowing a bit more about the application and how it's currently plumbed & controlled might be useful.

Nathan Smith

Reaction score
I'm wondering what loads you have that would possibly outrun an Ultra 310. It that monster sized boiler in a house? That thing has enough boiler output to theoretically keep my house at 70F indoors when the outdoor temperature is within a few 10s of degrees of absolute zero (-459F).