Bleach line check valve replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

edleit

Reaction score
My softener includes an external bleach jar which tees into the brass brine valve. The bleach jar has been overflowing during recharge cycles, so I disassembled it to find the inner parts coated in sediment and white goo.

I have not been able to find any indication of a part number that I can use to order a replacement. Any ideas?

Thanks, Ed

Reach4

Reaction score
Try "inline check valve" as a search engine search term. There are some really cheap ones, but I don't know how they would do with chlorine bleach. I am not experienced with these.

Bannerman

Reaction score
Bleach ... fed directly into a softener?

Although a weak bleach solution is generally recommended to sanitize a softener when first installed, ongoing exposure of the softener resin with an oxidant such as Chlorine bleach will negatively impact the lifespan of the resin. Perhaps the bottle is intended to be a feeder for resin cleaners such as Rescare, Res-up or similar, to assist to remove or prevent iron accumulation from well water containing iron.

The softener control valve brand and model was not specified so as to review a parts list for that particular model.

Suggest closely inspecting the jar and associated components to identify a manufacturer. If you post some photos, forum members may be able to identify the unit and confirm the feeder brand.

edleit

Reaction score
The control is a Fleck 2510. I've attached photos to illustrate the location of the valve and its condition found on disassembly.

When the system was installed, we were instructed to run the bleach tube into a small (quart-sized) Mason jar containing a 50/50 mix of household bleach and water. This was described as a method to cleanse the resin bed and is done on a weekly basis. Your responses today were the first I have heard to the contrary regarding use of bleach in the softener system.