2 recirculation loops

Users who are viewing this thread

Noconew

Reaction score
Finishing up install on a Navien NPE240A with option to use internal recirculation or external.

Hot water tees off right after WH. Can I loop furthest fixture on both sides of house back to recirculation inlet with a tee at the WH?

One side would be 20 feet and the other about 40. Would only occasionally be used at the same time.

Is this possible?

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
I'm not a hydronics expert, but I think what will happen is that most of the flow will take the shorter path (out 20 feet and back) and less of the flow will take the longer path (40 feet out and back). So with just a tee, it would work, but depending on how the pump is controlled by the unit, you might only get the benefits on the short loop. Or if the pump runs on a timer basis, it might work fine; or if it runs until the return water temperature reaches a certain temperature, then the lesser return flow from the long loop might depress the return water temperature sufficiently that it recirculates until both loops are hot.

Two things you can do to reduce the imbalance problem. One is to install a balancing valve (just a ball valve, say) on the short return loop before the tee. That way you can throttle down that return side so its effective length is greater. If you match effective lengths, the hot water will still return faster through the short loop, so perhaps you'd want to throttle more to match return times.

The other option is that your unit's manual indicates it supports an external pump. So you could install a small booster pump on the longer line to balance the two returns. But this is probably the last choice option, because of the extra complexity.

Cheers, Wayne

Fitter30

Reaction score
Should work would put in a globe valve in the shorter run that way gives you a way to balance the loops.