Cycle stop valve questions

Users who are viewing this thread

WildWildMidwest

Reaction score
I LOVE this web page! So much great information here.

I am a novice DIY homeowner, and first-time poster, who has been reading about the miracle of cycle stop valves. I am about to order a CSV1W, but I wanted ask four questions of the experts.

Last summer our well pump suddenly died. It was a 3/4 HP 2W StaRite pump, installed in 1976 (!), at a depth of 63 feet on 1 inch galvanized pipe. The well depth measured 133 feet, and the static water height was 19 feet on one of the driest days of summer.

Our new pump is a 1/2 HP Myers 3W 2300 pump, set at 60 feet on 1 inch PVC pipe, with a torque arrestor and a WellXTrol 203 tank. The pump maintains pressure between 40-60 PSI. It was professionally installed by our local vendor. The Pumptrol pressure switch appears to be original to the 1970s.

Our Southern Wisconsin home is a two story, 2.5 bath single family residence. Our water needs are pretty typical for a family of four. We are about to replace our 25+ year old AO Smith natural gas tank water heater with a Navien 210A tankless NG unit. (I hope NOT to ignite a holy war about tankless heaters.)

My first question is whether the CSV1W is the best choice of cycle stop valves for our home, given our well pump & pressure tank and our soon-to-be-installed Navien heater?

Second question, reviewing the CSV1W above-ground installation instructions, I see a recommendation for "a flow inducer sleeve to be sure the motor is sufficiently cooled at low flow rates." I've read in these forums that a flow inducer sleeve isn't generally necessary with a CSV1W since the flow never actually drops low enough to cause overheating. Is that information correct for our installation?