Well to cistern suggestions

Users who are viewing this thread

rmcdona2

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I am new to wells and have recently moved into a house that has a 6000 gallon cistern located underground beside it. The cistern is piped into the house and there is a pump, pressure switch and tank in the basement of the house. This all works great, until the cistern runs dry and it costs many hundreds of dollars to have a truck come and fill it. There is an existing well on the property, that is not connected to anything. The well is about 150 ft below the elevation of the house and about 900 ft away (the house is on a big hill). I am looking for the simplest and most economical way to get the well water to the house. To that end, I was considering using the well to periodically fill the cistern and keep everything else as is. The well shed currently has power to it with it's own hydro meter. I live in a freezing climate in Canada, with very rocky and hard soil. I have been quoted $25k just to dig a trench for a water line which is going to be embedded in sand at an 8 ft depth. Since the run is all uphill from the well to the cistern, I was considering just doing a shallow line (2 ft) that will self drain, and periodically run it a couple of times a month to fill the cistern.

Does this sound like a stupid idea?

If not, would a 1 inch line do the trick? What other factors do I need to consider?

If so, what other options do I have to consider?

Appreciate any help and comments.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com