Well help!

Users who are viewing this thread

Ken Polo

Reaction score
Hi everyone, thanks in advance for any help you can give. I've been scouring the forums but can't really find the answer to my questions.

I moved into a house last year that has a well only used for the outside. The house was all on well, but then was hooked onto municipal water, but kept the well hooked up to one outlet for the outside.

I have a 40.3 G pressure tank, 40/60 pressure switch, and 1/3HP submersible pump.

I moved in the wintertime, and the system was already shut down for the year (no need for water for winter in Canada). Come spring time, I just turned on the pump and away it went. I've never used a well before, so I didn't check the tank pressure, just turned it on and went. Right when I turned it on, the pressure went pretty quickly up to 60. When I ran the one outside faucet, it would quickly get down to 40, pump would kick on and repressurize. With the faucet full open, this cycle would happen pretty quickly (15 seconds). To be honest I didn't think much about it, since I was new and ignorant. To be honest I didn't use it all that much through the summer.

Come the fall time, I drained the water out of the pressure tank and flipped the breakers for the pump. I did a little more research over the winter so I would be a bit more familiar with the system.

I checked the tank pressure (it was 0... but since I didn't check it the year before I have no idea if it was 0 then or developed a leak). I filled it up to 38 psi (using a compressor, and it took quite a long time). Flipped the breaker and turned on the pump. It took quite a long time to get up to 60, but I thought maybe it was going to be like this with actual pressure in the tank.