Water treatment distributor Size

Users who are viewing this thread

jm13004

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm putting my new water treatment system together and have a question on the size of my distributors. My new house will have a 3/4 HP pump in the garage next to my backwash filter and softener (both are 10 x54 tanks). I was planning on running 1" PVC to my system. The inlet to my house is shortly after that with 3/4" PEX ( all main feeds in the house I ran 3/4" PEX). The main reason I'm using the Clack WS1's was for the 1" porting and reduction of friction loss through my water treatment system. It appears that the upper/lower baskets as well as the down pipes are 1.05". I think this is 3/4" internally. Should I change them out to 1.3" (32 mm) for true 1" piping or not worry about. Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
Don't worry IMO. 3/4 PVC is substantially bigger inside than 3/4 PEX. I am not a pro. Your WS1 diagnostics step 7D will show the peak flow:
STEP 7D – Flow rate, maximum last seven days: The maximum flow rate in gallons per minute
that occurred in the last seven days will be displayed.​
Typically that number is unlikely to be over 7 gpm.

Protect outdoor PVC and other plastics from the sun with paint or other. You mentioned the garage, but I suspect the well piping might be in the sun.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
to go to 1.32" (1" PVC) it would require a different control valve. The 1.05" riser tube is more than adequate for your application. You would not be able to tell the flow rate difference between the two on a 10x54" tank.

jm13004

Reaction score
Thanks Reach and Dittohead! I'll leave everything in place . How about plumbing from the pump to the backwash filter and softener .....should I make this 1" or 3/4" PVC? The equipment and pump are right next to each other. I'm assuming this doesn't matter much either.

Reach4

Reaction score