Tricky Bathroom Drain Layout

Users who are viewing this thread

ScottyDee

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting and would like some help with a very tricky 2nd floor plumbing layout. I would like to take a week off of work and tackle this project. There are two bathrooms upstairs that are split between the toilets and showers. I have 9 and a half foot tall ceilings and will be doing a drop ceiling to make room for the drains. All of the cast iron has been removed and I sistered all the 2x10 joists (they were cut out with large holes where the 4 inch cast iron used to be)

The closest toilet is within 6 feet from the 4" stack so i'm assuming this will be okay
The closest shower is within 5 feet from the 4" stack

There is not much room to add vertical vents so i would like to do this with a horizontal layout if possible utilizing the main 4" vent and the 2" vent

Please feel free to make any additions, changes, or a new layout if this doesn't work

Attached is the layout I came up with after some brainstorming for a few days.
1) Will this layout work?
2) Is the 2 inch vent sufficient for this layout (this is the largest i can go)
3) does it matter which ties into the main 4" stack first (toilets vs showers)
4) Will there be any issues with the 2x2x2 wye that ties the showers & toilets to the vent (water draining from upstairs vanity)
5) Is the closest shower okay, or do i somehow need to get a vent in between the closest shower and the 4' stack)?
6) Would it make more sense to just branch off from the 4" horizontal run to the 2" showers than have a separate connection to the stack

Attachments

• Floor Plan.jpg
    Floor Plan.jpg
    27.6 KB · Views: 155
  • Bathroom first floor.jpg
    Bathroom first floor.jpg
    22.2 KB · Views: 153
  • updated upstairs.jpg
    updated upstairs.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 152
Last edited:

ScottyDee

Reaction score
Draw a floor plan.