Tacocomfort wet rotor circulator (0015E3)

Users who are viewing this thread

Matthew Bohas

Matt_Toronto
Reaction score
Hello everyone

I have a 2 zone system and am trying to understand setup's a bit better as this is my first year in the house (renoation)

Navien NCB240

I have 2 taco pumps setup model 0015E3 that have 3 speed settings (low/medium/high)

If only 1 zone is on I find there is not a large gap between the supply and return water temperatures and I was wondering if changing the speed setting from medium to low would cause the gap to increase?

There are 5 loops of roughly 200 feet each of plex tubing on the first zone and 4 loops of roughly 200 feet each of plex tubing on the second floor.

Initially both are setup as medium for speed.

When both zones are on at the same time the supply vs. return temps are about 9 degrees F apart which is ideal, however when only 1 zone is on I find it drops to about 5 degrees after a bit.

The combi boiler is in the basement if this makes a difference for the pump settings

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
Hello everyone

I have a 2 zone system and am trying to understand setup's a bit better as this is my first year in the house (renoation)

Navien NCB240

I have 2 taco pumps setup model 0015E3 that have 3 speed settings (low/medium/high)

If only 1 zone is on I find there is not a large gap between the supply and return water temperatures and I was wondering if changing the speed setting from medium to low would cause the gap to increase?

That should be the case, generally. At lower flow more heat is lost along the loop resulting in a lower return water temp. But it's probably plumbed primary/secondary with the primary being driven by the internal pump on the NCB through a hydraulic separator. If the internal pump's (lower left corner in the picture below) flow rate is very high slowing down the secondary pump on the zone radiation may have only a small impact.

process-1024x838.jpg