Seriously stumped...

Users who are viewing this thread

Michelle Gauvin

Reaction score
Ok fellow experts, I am stumped and need some help. I am a civil engineer here not a plumber so looking for some advice. We are in a new house as of a year ago and have had some construction issues so it wouldn't surprise me if there is a leak, but here's the issue. Last week there was a leak in our street and the city shut off the water for 8 hours. Sure enough there was air trapped in our system but was no problem after opening and releasing all the faucets. However, we have a 3" drain and 2x 3/4" supply lines that lead from the basement to our attic for future bathroom buildout. They run in the wall on the first floor by a closet and second floor by washer and dryer. Ever since the city shut off the water, there is a VERY loud constant audible dripping sound coming from that wall...my guess is there is air in the supply lines but it seriously sounds like plop plop plop every few seconds - like water splashing on water. There is no shutoff for the supply lines that run to the attic - and I assume they are capped but I can't find them. I figure if there were a leak, we'd see water in the basement by now?? I am so confused what the noise is - but my guess is the leak in the street and this maybe related? Any ideas? How do I get it to go away...

Reach4

Reaction score
One test to consider-- shut off the water to the whole house. Open a faucet to relieve pressure. How is the drip sound affected?

Reach4

Reaction score
Yes. You just want the pressure off of the system. If you have an expansion tank, it could take longer for the pressure to be zero.

So possible outcomes I am envisioning are the dripping stops immediately, dripping stops after several minutes, or the dripping continues as it did when the water was turned on.

Michelle Gauvin

Reaction score
ok i shut off the water - opened a faucet - drained it - lots of air came out - sound is gone