Questions about pressure tank and cycling

Users who are viewing this thread

WillToress

Reaction score
Hi all, i'm new here and this is my first time owning a house with a well. Is the gauge on the pressure tank supposed to go in between 45 and 70 psi back and forth as water is being used? (video: ) Is this called short cycling? There is also clicking sounds and vibrations when it hits 70psi. Lights also flicker when it clicks. If this is abnormal, how is the pressure gauge supposed to react when water is being used?

I'm asking because the faucets in the upper level of the house had low pressure and stopped to a trickle. After leaving it overnight, pressure returned to the kitchen but not as strong as before. The bath sink is still extremely weak. The pressure in the lower level is still fine. Could this be due to a bad pressure tank?

Thanks so much in advance!

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Yeah, that is rapid cycling. The bladder in the tank is most likely bad. Even when the bladder in the tank was still good it was cycling every minute or two, which is still hundreds of cycles per day. After the so called "normal" cycling causes the bladder to break and/or check valve to fail, it turns into thousands of cycles a day, and the pump is ripe for replacement soon.

Using a Cycle Stop Valve to eliminate the cycling will make pump systems last so much longer it is considered a "disruptive" product by the pump industry. Not only will the CSV make the pump system last longer, now that you need a new tank it will allow the use of a much smaller and less expensive tank like in the PK1A kit. Not only will the PK1A kit be the least expensive way to replace that tank and make everything last longer, it will deliver such strong constant pressure to the shower you will no longer need soap.