PVC Slip fit coupling Constant pressure (underground)

Users who are viewing this thread

Tim3131

Reaction score
My friend installed one of these to repair a leaking joint . I was out of town when leaked happened at daughters house . Its the incoming water to house. Two rubber o-rings hard for me to trust. I see mixed opinions online about burying these with constant pressure pipe. Appreciate opinions.
zzzz.jpg

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I would not have used that fitting id replace the 2 90s no fighting easy peasy and more reliable in my opinion. I dont know the reliability of those. But I have no opinion on the reliability of your repair its just that I know my repair is good

Tim3131

Reaction score
Im between These fixes (Im a solid C- plumber)
1. digging it back and doing 2 regular couplings, and jamming it in (cant find a video for this but seems to make the most sence)
2. doing the 4 90s method
3. doing the remove the middle ridge of the coupling method and sliding on
4. Just leaving it

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
1. digging it back and doing 2 regular couplings, and jamming it in (cant find a video for this but seems to make the most sence)
4. Just leaving it
You could do two glue slip couplings

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
4. Just leaving it
1 ok , I wouldnt
2 horrible the worst idea You would reall y add 4 90s?
3 ok so you would have 2 couplings
4 yea thats better than half these ideas

Why would you not concider cutting off the 90s and cutting out the existing coupling? and replacing the 2 90s and one coupling. its super easy to fit together and you wind up with less added glue joints to the system if you like digging though thats a good way just dig it out .
I might leave that fitting but never would have used it in the first place

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score