Pump pressure

Users who are viewing this thread

Silledon

Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to wells so please bear with me.

We have a well with water at 21 ft., not sure how deep the whole thing is, but it seems that I hit some sludge at about 30 ft. The old pump was producing and we ended up replacing the pump with a FloTech 1HP. We put a new foot valve and new pipe in as well. There doesn't seem to be any air leaks in the new pipe or at the elbow to the pump. We have county water in the house, the well is just for 3 outside faucets, one of which is a frost proof about a 100 - 125 ft. away by the shop. I was able to back fill the pipes filling the lines until I had water coming out of the frost proof and at that point the pressure gauge was showing about 20 psi. But, as soon as I stopped filling the lines the pressure dropped to zero. I turned the pump on and the pressure stays at zero. Would you still think that I have a possible air leak or would it be more likely that either the pressure switch (Square D, type 9013 FSG-2, series B, set at 30-50) is bad or the bladder in the tank (Goulds, v-100). I did check the air in the tank and it was only at about 22 psi, so I emptied the tank, which there wasn't much water that came out at all, then filled the tank to 28 psi. Turned the pump on and still nothing, zero psi on the gauge. Do I have to try to fill the lines so that it fills the tank or shouldn't the pump do that once it's turned on. Thanks in advance for any help. Don

Speedbump

Reaction score
The only thing you have to fill is the pump. It should evacuate the air from the lines. At least a real pump will. You said you replaced pipe and footvalve. Did you get the footvalve at HD too and if the answer is yes, is it plastic? What kind of pipe and what rating?

bob...

Silledon

Reaction score