Need advice on treating water

Users who are viewing this thread

Fireman

Reaction score
Hi, I have a shallow water well in Annapolis MD. My water has a hardness of 5 grains. Iron of 12 mg/L, PH of 6, and turbidity of 1.2. I also have coliform bacteria in the well. It has been shocked 3 times by 2 different companies. It failed every time. My current water softener is a Fleck 5600 valve on a 9x48 resin tank. It has a kinetico twin tank backwashing 10x54 resin tanks before the softener. Currently the Fleck 5600 is leaking from the bypass, and the system is not softening the water. I have cleaned the brine wash tube, and it advances manually through the full cycle, pulling brine as it should. The Kinetico is stuck in backwash. All resin tanks appear to be in good shape.

I am a carpenter part time and fix all of my own vehicles. I am fairly mechanical but I hate fooling with things like carburetors with lots of small parts. I think my best bet right now would be to replace or rebuild the Fleck 5600, and replace or rebuild the kinetico. I think I need a brim filter, a calcite filter, and a UV light, as well as a working water softener. I do not know what media is in the Kinetico system or how old any part of the system is. I bought the house 6 months ago. I am thinking I should replace the kinetico valve with something simpler like a fleck 5600 with backwash only for BIRM, and put calcite in the other tank.
20140429_134421.jpg
20140429_134431.jpg

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
It sounds like surface water is leaking into your well. Try to look for ways to stop that. IRB and SRB can exist in wells for a long time, but coliform usually indicates a fresh supply from the surface.

http://www.moravecwaterwells.com/disin_test.htm disinfection procedure is more involved than what most people use, but it is what I am looking to do.

If you cannot beat the coliform bacteria with a good shocking, you probably need a chlorine injection system with a contact tank.