Navien question from new owner (Intelligent preheating with no external recirculation)

Users who are viewing this thread

MacMan34

Reaction score
Hey all,

I am new to the world of tankless water heaters and am super excited by my new unit.

Please forgive me if this is an obvious question or anything, I have been trying to search here and elsewhere since I decided to go with the Navien 240A.

I see from the instructions that to turn on intelligent preheating you toggle the first 2 switches inside the control panel. From my reading this turns on both internal and external re-circulation.

Is there any benefit to doing this without the external line? or does turning this on without the line possibly damage anything? I like the idea of there being readily available hot water in the internal re-circulation system when it believes demand will call for it (the wife gets up and showers at 5am, and I do about 6:30 five days a week), but am not at the moment at a place to install an external line or a Grundfos valve. Maybe one day....

Any insight on this, along with any other advice you can give as I venture into the tankless water heater world, would be very much appreciated.

Thanks so much and have a great day.

j

SoCal Plumber

Reaction score
Hey all,

I am new to the world of tankless water heaters and am super excited by my new unit.

Please forgive me if this is an obvious question or anything, I have been trying to search here and elsewhere since I decided to go with the Navien 240A.

I see from the instructions that to turn on intelligent preheating you toggle the first 2 switches inside the control panel. From my reading this turns on both internal and external re-circulation.