Jet keeps clogging on pump

Users who are viewing this thread

MJPL

Reaction score
Hi, I have a really old convertible jet pump that has a fair amount of mineral buildup in ejector. I just took it apart for the third time because the buildup keeps breaking off and clogging the jet. I cleaned it out the best I could, and I'm hoping this time will be the last but there's a few spots I can't really reach, does anyone know if there's a chemical I can use to break it down?

Reach4

Reaction score
You take the pieces and soak them in a tub, inject something in to the holes, or what?

If calcium, I would think maybe vinegar or CLR. If iron I would be thinking Iron Out (smells some). I am not a pro and I have never worked with a jet pump.

If the pieces are getting sucked up from down the well, I don't know how you would handle that. I wonder if a wye strainer could be used in line with the suction line without impeding things too much.

MJPL

Reaction score
You take the pieces and soak them in a tub, inject something in to the holes, or what?

If calcium, I would think maybe vinegar or CLR. If iron I would be thinking Iron Out (smells some). I am not a pro and I have never worked with a jet pump.

If the pieces are getting sucked up from down the well, I don't know how you would handle that. I wonder if a wye strainer could be used in line with the suction line without impeding things too much.

For the most part I used a flathead to break up the big pieces and then a wire brush on a drill once the majority of it was broken away, then flushed it out. I'm guessing it's iron but I'm not 100% sure, it makes sense that it would be because there's a galvanized adapter right on the inlet. Maybe I'll try iron out, does it work well for really thick buildups?

Reach4

Reaction score