Is my partially cut exterior wall stud safe?

Users who are viewing this thread

lisbun

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm remodeling my bathroom and rearranging my tub placement in my wood framed house. An exterior wall stud was in the way of centering the shower valve above my tub, so my contractor cut parts of the stud away to center and fit the shower valve, shower arm and tub spout. Pictures are attached. To me it looks like he cut too much of the stud without properly bracing it. I'm not sure if he's following code. Does it look safe?
Screenshot_20230402_214811_Gallery.jpg
Screenshot_20230402_214850_Gallery.jpg
I'm in NYC. Also, do I need insulation behind this wall where the water pipes and valve is located? I'm new to renovation so I'm clueless.Thanks so much!

Last edited:

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
Safe Id say yes , a happy face from inspector maybe not. I think the corner and the partial stud and next stud over will carry it fine but dont think that looks very clean.
My code calls for installing insulation when opening a wall , that little hole I wouldnt bother, but if a bigger hole was there I might. of cource we dont have freezing weather wher I live we never have frozen pipe. (location NYC is job site? many people post where they live and omitt job location) Was the a valve in that wall before? I think Id be concerned I think it gets kinda cold in NYC but I sure dont follow your weather or know what the protocol is on plumbing in unisulated exterior walls ask inspector or a genuine Contractor in your area
Here we go on airchambers , Someone will tell us those are going to kill someone with legionaires disease, they do nothing been putting them on houses for a good 100 years though, experts say they get stagnate and breed disease.

lisbun

Reaction score