Iron and Manganese removal with Katalox

Users who are viewing this thread

Rotaris

If its not broke, fix it until it is!
Reaction score
High folks,
Just tore apart a 5 year old air injection water filter for the first time in 5 years and have some questions regarding cleaning and operation.
It is 10x54 Iron pure filter with 4 button clack. Has 1.5 cubic ft of Katalox. Air injection
I am not sure of gravel contents because I purchased ready to install.
Please forgive my ignorance, I am New to this stuff.
It has seemed to work ok, not perfect but ok. I am just thinking that the media might be shot, do to duration it has been in service. Lack of Maintenance as well, due to ignorance!
Starting questions:
The DLFC is a 065 on it is this the flow (6.5gpm)? LOOKING FOR SUGGESTIONS REGARDING THIS? Is it enough?
The Air injector valve thing is orange (what does this mean?) I see there are different colors available?
What does the "Basket" thing I took out actually do?
PS
Did some farting around tonight....water temp between 46-50F

Thanks for your patience and time!

Attachments

• ALS iron tannin mag.iron.jpg
    ALS iron tannin mag.iron.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 247
  • Test done before filter installed.jpg
    Test done before filter installed.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 224
  • test after filter jpeg.jpg
    test after filter jpeg.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 242
Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
The DLFC is a 065 on it is this the flow (6.5gpm)?
You could play the drain line into a 5 gallon bucket, and time how long it takes to fill, or almost fill. Do some math, and know the actual backwash rate.

You could weigh the change in weight for the bucket rather than interpolating. If you only do about 4 gallons, you should spill less than trying to fill the 5 gallon bucket to the brim.

This is easier with a flex line for the drain line.

Rotaris

Reaction score