Intermittent pump on well.

Users who are viewing this thread

Sans1964

Reaction score
Ok I have a 380 foot deep well a new 3 wire 1 hp gould at around 340 feet . Wster at Round 150 from well top. new pressure switch 40/60, new breaker in the panel, new fuses in disconnect. Pressure tank at 38 psi. Problem is randomly no water. Could be days before it happens . Throw the switch a bit later I can turn it on and get pressure. This can happen even after 24 hours of no water use. The system holds pressure and water is clean. I think the pump is going into overload, I measure around 7 amps at running. I should note that the pump was installed 2 weeks ago. Previous pump exhibits same symptoms.

TIA
Scott

ACWxRADR

Reaction score
Scott,

I was simply checking in on my own post to see if there were replies and I read yours. I am not a professional when it comes to submersible pump systems, but I am a fairly good troubleshooter when it pertains to electrical and mechanical systems.

You state that the pump is new, the pressure switch is new and the circuit protection (breakers and fuses) are new. The water depth is acceptable and the check valve is holding as you do not lose prime. Tank pressure is set appropriately (38 psi for 40 psi cut-in on the pressure switch). All this is excellent and you have covered the major components.

So the question remains, why are all these new components (or verified components) causing the same trouble?

You stated that this is a 3-wire, 1 HP pump and you measure 7 A when it is running. Do you infer that 3 wire means 3-phase? If it is 3-phase, did you measure the current on all three phases? Did you ever have the chance to measure the current on all phases when the pump was supposed to be running but wasn't? This would be critical information for troubleshooting.