First timer finishing a 350' well

Users who are viewing this thread

Gary Q

Reaction score
I am a total newbie to wells. I bought property with a drilled and capped well. Well driller report shows 350' well with 20 gpm. There tends to be iron in the water and I need fire fighting water on property so I was thinking of putting in a storage tank which, from what I have been told, should settle out the iron before going to the house. Having a storage tank would also allow a lower production pump which would cycle on/off less often, saving wear on the pump.

I'd need a booster pump between the tank and the house and probably a pressure tank as well. I am seeking input on pump sizes and types, pipe sizings and any other ideas about my set up. Also, how do I determine the depth for placing the pump?

Thanks,
Gary

Reach4

Reaction score
The distance down to water is called the static water level. There are electronic devices that well people often have that can measure the distance with an ultrasonic pulse.

What determines if you need an above ground fire fighting tank? How big will the tank be?

Is this usage for a house, or are you irrigating more than a moderate lawn?

What diameter is the well?

Do you have a pitless adapter to keep the pipes below the frost line?

You will need a good lab water test. https://terrylove.com/forums/index.php?threads/recommended-water-testing-lab.75253/ You need numbers for iron, manganese, silicon, pH, hardness at a minimum I think.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Having a storage tank would also allow a lower production pump which would cycle on/off less often, saving wear on the pump.
Refilling the storage tank will limit cycling so wear should not be an issue. Keeping up with demand would be paramount.