Can someone help me with my water softener?

Users who are viewing this thread

mrt049

Reaction score
I am completely new to well water, I've always been on city water so I have no idea what I'm doing. I have a water softener and then another tank called an Iron Boss. I'm guessing the Iron boss is to remove extra iron out of the water and then it goes into the softener but I'm not 100% sure.

The Iron Boss regenerates every day because of high iron content in the water and the water softener regenerates every 2 days. I don't know why. The softener is set with a hardness setting of 50, no idea what that means. Should that number be higher or lower? The water in the house tests very soft but I consistently get a sulfur type of smell. TDS tester shows the water is around 900-1000 TDS.

The small isn't overbearing but you can definitely tell something is off. Kind of a slight rotten egg smell. I had the anode rod in my water heater replaced 5 months ago and it stopped the smell but it's now back 5 months later.

Can someone give me tips on how this thing should properly be set up, if I should be cleaning anything regularly, or if there is anything I can do to get rid of this eggy smell? Thanks in advance for any tips.

MLKekL7.jpg

hOjV3C8.jpg

Last edited:

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
Looks like an old AIO design using the discontinued 6700 Fleck valve.

Do you have a water report from a lab? We really need to know whats in the water in order to treat it. When you are on a well, it is your job to have the water tested regularly. Kar labs and National Testing Laboratories do an excellent job.

Mialynette2003

In the Trades
Reaction score
Is the smell on the hot side, cold or both? Hot side but not cold tells me it's coming from the water heater. It may not be the anode rod. Let us know if it's hot side only.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail 5th session completed 4/24/24.
Solutions
Reaction score