Building an apartment in my attic--vents and drains question

Users who are viewing this thread

DoodleOlsen

Reaction score
Hey, everyone. I've been lurking for years and have gained lots of useful knowledge (thank you!), but this is my very first time posting. Yippee! So here's my question: do the main waste stack and the main vent stack have to be the same stack, or can they be separated?

Here's the context: our house is a 130-year-old side-by-side duplex. We live on one side; the other side has been split into two apartments, which we rent out. The attic is really an unfinished third floor, and I am building an apartment in it for my brother. The roof has seven gables, and it's 16 feet from the floor to the peaks, so there's plenty of vertical space. Rather than get into the ceiling of the second floor's apartment, I would like to run the drains for the kitchen and bathroom across the attic floor and build an elevated floor over them. I can't drain to the existing stack, because the vents for the apartment below are almost definitely connected to it below the floor of the attic. The drains I am building will go to the stairway in the back corner of the attic and from there straight down to the basement (through a chase) and over four feet to attach to the main stack. If it is acceptable, though, I want to vent them through a trap door in the roof over the bathroom of the new apartment, which is about 25 feet away, horizontally. That way I won't be cutting into the brand new roof. The trap door is elevated from the roof and sealed shut and insulated (we got spray foam insulation), but not shingled. Does this work, or do I have to continue the waste stack through the roof by the stairs? Because the roof is low over there--floor level, actually.

Here's a super simplified picture:
upload_2018-1-6_19-37-34.png