Budget Hot Water Recirculation Via Cold Water

Users who are viewing this thread

Baumgrenze

Reaction score
I am a new duplex/cottage resident in a CCRC. I'd like install (and perhaps to promote) a working but not super expensive under the sink hot water recirculation pump, manual start, for a bathroom where at best I must run the hot water over 1 minute (a good sink full) before the water is warm enough to use (and that is in the summertime when the attic is warm to hot.) I can no longer check but I suspect that the lines have no insulation. The water heater is a tank, electric, so at least the water could be recycled. Recirculation would also save on electric costs, wouldn't it?
How do I justify this in cost recovery terms? How long is the approximate payback period?
The same I true for the simple urethane insulation I installed in my furnace room when I was a homeowner. In the long run it must save money, no?
Thanks,
baumgrenze

Phog

Reaction score
How do I justify this in cost recovery terms? How long is the approximate payback period?

Your premise is wrong. A recirculation system will increase the electricity usage, not decrease. It takes extra electricity to operate the recirculation pump. Recirculation also will increase your standby losses, making the water heater turn on more often (unless you are on a triggered system, which means you press a button about 60s before you start using hot water to trigger the recirculation). The only savings will be on your water bill, since you will no longer be wasting water while you run the faucet waiting for hot water. Sorry for the bad news.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score