Why does wall mounted faucet not need access panel but deck does?

Users who are viewing this thread

Lucky

Reaction score
getting a bathroom remodel. I'm not a pro but I'm looking to learn a bit while planning the project. I'm getting a 42x36 shower stall next to a 60 x 32 tub. the tub wont be a shower. there will be a knee wall between the shower stall and tub.

our contractor said pick any faucet from Kohler, Delta or Moen and we can even buy it ourselves for him to install. but that's all he installs. he's the general and has a plumber do his plumbing actually.

so we started looking at the big 3 websites at wall mounts. I don't think there were 10 total. but deck mounts is 100's of choices. plus my gf really wants the spray as well. and with wall mount the hose hangs in the tube.

so I began looking at pinterest then realized we can put a deck on the rear 60 inch wall of the tub and build that out so the faucets can be mounted on that deck. plus then we get a nice 60 inch shelf for faucets. soap. shampoo etc etc. I have 12 inches of space to build out the tub and I'm not sure the depth of the new deck wall but guess around 5 or 6 inches ?

the general wrote back to me today and said he talked to the plumber and an access panel would be needed if we wanted a deck built out from the wall. the other side of the wall is just an unused spare bedroom so I really don't mind the panel per se. I can cover with a bureau and I'm sure anyone else would do the same. but it got me wondering why a wall mount tub faucet in a knee wall doesn't need access but a deck mount does.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I have seen plenty of deck mounts without an access. And when I need to work on them I sometimes remove the tile for access.
Most of the wall faucets have been just fine to work with later.

Lucky

Reaction score