Zoned Humidifers.

Users who are viewing this thread

Trevor williams

Reaction score
I have a two zone forced air system (1st floor one zone, 2md floor second zone).

I have enough humidity on second floor and not enough on 1st. I have done all we can done to tighten up the house. (completely gutted the 1880s house and brought every modern piece of technology we could to seal the house.)

So I have bought and installed two honeywell Tru-steam humidifiers, one on each of the 'zoned sides' of the supply trunk line. I have two honeywell humistats piped into each respective floor's common return (upstairs landing, and center hall on first floor).

I now need some type of a controller to allow the steamers to come on independently from the burning action of the furnace but also still take advantage of the zoning dampers.
(Possibly a Taco zone panel for zone valves, 24v)

I have never tried this before but I have heard many complaints with zoned systems that one zone doesn't humidify like the other.

Thoughts? I am looking for constructive replies. We have spent literally 100s of thousands of dollars on a ground up build but this is one item I just need some creative thoughts. Thanks.

Stuff

Reaction score
So what is working / not working now? You have the humidifiers installed so are they not functioning?

It sort of sounds that you want them to run independently of heating? If so someone needs to complete the G wiring between the humidistat and zone panel/thermostat - might need sail switch. All this is in the installation manual.

Trevor williams

Reaction score
No they are not in service yet. Need a controller.

I should mention we used a whole house bypass unit prior to putting this setup together. I got tired of first floor not getting enough humidity so I decided to put this setup together.( if I forced fan the 2nd floor would get way too humid to satisfy 1st floor)