Water lines plugged with crud... now what?

Users who are viewing this thread

Raucina

Reaction score
Have a mobile home rental, galvanized pipe under, and all the fixtures are gumming up with junk that looks to be flakes from inside that pipe. Replaced the well about a year ago, and the water supply is clean, Did a few rounds of chlorination to clean the sys, and at that time had to clean a few valves. Now, and suddenly, both bathrooms have gummed up, just a trickle at the toilets and nothing at the shower valves. Kitchen and laundry are okay....

I am a contractor and have plumbed many a house, but don't have time or patience to crawl under this dump just now.

Of course its hard to collect rent under such conditions - so the plumber
# 1 says he might blow it out with compressed air, [ he is the roto rooter guy and fixed the plugged drains - another story- and broke the pipes and filled the crawl space with sh*&^t ]

and plumber #2 says $2500 to $3000 to run all new supply in pex. Plumber # 2 also warns me that the renters willl soon ride the toilets into the crawl space from 20 years of moisture. My instinct is to burn the place down, but I heard of laws forbidding that.

How much would you guys get to jerry rig new pex to 2 bathrooms? Cosmetics not important. Or any trick to get a few more years out of the flaking pipes? NO LEAKS in the supply lines yet.... Thanks!

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
Have you tried removing the supply lines from the faucets and toilet and running them into a bucket or just checking the airators and shower head?

Raucina

Reaction score
Yes, myself and two plumbers. Seem to plug up again or wont come out at all. It plugs up before the valves and stops and never makes it to the aerator

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
Follow your instincts---you have a beauty there