Water Filter on 1 1/2 inch water line?

Users who are viewing this thread

Chipper44

Reaction score

Reach4

Reaction score
3/4 inch piping is plenty for 7 gpm.

Looking at your filter choice, what is your purpose-- chlorine and odor removal? Not chlorine, since your well water does not have chlorine, but may have tastes and odors. This filter will not be the right thing for iron. It does not do backwashing, and they list that as a feature. I would think you might put this after the softener, rather than before. I am not a pro. I don't have much ueful to offer, but just things to think about.

But yes, 3/4 inch piping does not seem to be adding a significant restriction.

It is not usual to filter water for irrigation or hose spigots.

Chipper44

Reaction score
3/4 inch piping is plenty for 7 gpm.

Looking at your filter choice, what is your purpose-- chlorine and odor removal? Not chlorine, since your well water does not have chlorine, but may have tastes and odors. This filter will not be the right thing for iron. It does not do backwashing, and they list that as a feature. I would think you might put this after the softener, rather than before. I am not a pro. I don't have much ueful to offer, but just things to think about.

But yes, 3/4 inch piping does not seem to be adding a significant restriction.

It is not usual to filter water for irrigation or hose spigots.
I am doing a water test tonight. I was hoping the below would be more than sufficent to tackle anything I find on the test.
We do have iron when we run water to the faucets.

I was mainly curious if you could have 1 1/2 pipe, drop down to 3/4 inch then jump back up to 1 1/2 pipe.

I was thinking of doing a:
Pre Filter
AO Smith Carbon Filter
AO Smith Descaler
Post Filter

1658183889123.png

Reach4

Reaction score