New water heaters with expansion tank, causing water meter to turn?

Users who are viewing this thread

Mj23

Reaction score
Newbie here,

Plumber replaced two 50 gallon gas water heaters last week and added a new expansion tank.

Ever since then, the leak detection dial on my water meter has been spinning, intermittently, approximately every 15 to 20 seconds. The water meter is showing about 1 to 1.5 gallons of use per hour, even when all fixtures in the house are off.

No visible leak anywhere in the house. Also, I did a pressure drop test for over 20 minutes, which did not show any drop in pressure with the water shut off at the main.

Could the water meter dial turning intermittently simply be related to the expansion tank? Has anybody seen this before? For clarification, I have an open system, i.e. no pressure, regulating valve or backflow preventer at the main water meter.

Reach4

Reaction score
Does water come out of the drain for the temperature and pressure valve.? It shouldn't, but it would not hurt to check.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
meter only spins if water is passing through it I suppose if pressure was inconsistant it could flow in to the house and into the x tank then when pressure dropped flow back into the city main. but when a meter spins water is moving one way or the other.
it cant keep spinning in the same direction if you arent using water

Reach4

Reaction score
What is the water pressure? What is the air precharge.

If there is no check valve, and your air precharge is lower than the peak water pressure, then I guess water could be passing in and out of the thermal expansion tank. One easy test is to shut off the feed to the water heater, presuming that the thermal expansion tank is after that valve. Confirm that the flow indicator does not move with that valve closed.

Also, get a garden hose thread pressure gauge. That can go onto a hose spigot, laundry tap, or the drain valve of the water heater.

Jeff H Young