Keep water line from lake from freezing/

Users who are viewing this thread

Ron Cyr Sr

Reaction score
I'm a newbie so be patient.....We live on a lake year round and get our water from the lake. When we put the water line in in 1979 we waited until the lake was quite low. The guy digging the water line in took his backhoe out into the lake as far as he could go. At some point the water line comes from underground and runs along the lake bottom. This year we have a severe drought and I am getting concerned the we won't get enough rain to bring the lake up to where I feel safe that the water line running on the bottom will not freeze. I looked into putting foam insulation from the foot valve back to where it enters the ground. I was told at a plumbing supply place all this would do was keep the water in the line colder and make it freeze faster. Any ideas.....

PumpMd

Kevin
Reaction score
How deep is your frost line in Maine? How deep is the line under water now? How deep has it been frozen in the lake in the past years? Since you put it in during a drought for the water to be low, maybe you should've buried the line for the next time it happens in the future.

I was thinking about heat tape, is that something similar to your heat trace valveman but longer life? How do you get to put it in the pipe?

ThirdGenPump

In the Trades
Reaction score
How deep is your frost line in Maine? How deep is the line under water now? How deep has it been frozen in the lake in the past years? Since you put it in during a drought for the water to be low, maybe you should've buried the line for the next time it happens in the future.

I was thinking about heat tape, is that something similar to your heat trace valveman but longer life? How do you get to put it in the pipe?