GFI problem needs something plugged in to work??

Users who are viewing this thread

PaulMac

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a weird situation with my GFI circuit connected to 3 garage outlets, 2 ceiling lights, 2 garage doors openers, and one outside outlet. It seems that in order for the circuit to work, ie to provide power to the entire GFI circuit, I have to have something plugged in to one of the first outlets inside the garage. I plugged in a little night light that draws low current and all of sudden the entire system kicks on and starts work.

I have inspected the connections, tightened them all in the receptacles, etc and nothing seems burnt or frayed, but just this weird fluke. I am not an electrician but fairly handy with the DIY electrical stuff (volt meters, etc) but can't figure out why having something plugged in would cause the system to work?

Is there a short that is overriden by a light load on the circuit? Is there water in the outside plug causing intermittant power? Any thoughts would be welcome.

P

PaulMac

Reaction score
I would guess you have an open neutral wire, and plugging something in establishes a neutral through it.
Good advice and diagnosis. I found a loose connection on the neutral wire and ended up replacing the outlet. Everything works fine now.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score