Control Box Replacement Questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Juniper Jane

Reaction score
Hello there,

I am a newbie and have some questions if anyone may be able to help

I have a 625 foot well with the pump set at 605 feet.
It has a 2 HP motor with a 5 GPM pump.
The first pump died about 6 months ago and was replaced (by driller) with a new pump and motor.
The original 2HP 230Amp control box was not changed.
A couple months later the control box started acting up (capacitors/relay, the usual) so we called the drillers.

Drillers have now replaced the original control 2 HP control box with a 5 HP control box.
We noticed that there are 2 run capacitors and a gigantic start capacitor in this new 5HP box whereas the old 2 HP box had 1 run capacitor and 1 Start Capacitor and a relay of course.

Wondering why the driller would use a larger HP box with larger start and run caps - should I be concerned? I have read a lot on the internet about capacitors and have some concern the larger ones installed could eventually harm the motor. ??!!??

Ideas and input would be greatly appreciated! If I left anything out, please ask as I am a newbie to wells.

Thank you all

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You are correct that you do not want a 5HP box on a 2HP pump. It is OK just to see if you can jump start a locked up 2HP, but the extra capacitors are not good for the motor. Plus the overload in a 5HP box is set at like 28 amps, which is way too big for a 12-14 amp 2HP and won't trip if needed.

Juniper Jane

Reaction score
You are correct that you do not want a 5HP box on a 2HP pump. It is OK just to see if you can jump start a locked up 2HP, but the extra capacitors are not good for the motor. Plus the overload in a 5HP box is set at like 28 amps, which is way too big for a 12-14 amp 2HP and won't trip if needed.