Chlorine contact tank contact time, for iron bacteria?

Users who are viewing this thread

Hcw3

Reaction score
I'm a hot-tub/spa newbie, zero experience, preparing to fill my new-to-me (old) spa for the first time. From my measurements, I'm guessing the tub's got about a 250 gal capacity.

We have well water, with a chlorine injector system along with a 120gal contact tank, which deals with the iron bacteria and sulfur, followed by a whole-house carbon filter (w/ backwash capability), and then the softener. I will bypass the softener to fill the hot-tub to avoid "softened water" problems.

Using a Taylor pool/spa kit, I've measured the free chlorine in the water between the contact tank and the carbon filter, it reads between 1.5-2.0ppm at that point, and I've measured the free chlorine after the carbon filter, using my (more precise?) test kit for household water, and I get zero-ppm. No chlorine smell and no sulfur at that point after the filter.

My question is about the contact-tank system.... how long does the chlorine-treated water need to stay in the contact tank, in order for the chlorine to 'do its thing' at killing the iron bacteria? ie: How much, and how often, can I pull out of this 120gal tank in one go, before I'd simply be pulling untreated water through?

Would it be best to only take out 75 gallons or so at a time, so the next filling of the contact tank has time to work? And then should I let it sit overnight, run the carbon-filter backwash, and then tap out another 75 gallons?

Is overnight long enough or does the contact tank need more time to treat the water than that?

I did try filling the tub all in one shot a few months back (a "test fill"), and by the time it was full the water that was coming into the tub was smelling like sulfur.

Is there a better way to do it?

Thanks much for any help!

--
Harry

Reach4

Reaction score
Where does your chlorine get injected -- before or after the pressure tank?