Building Drain through foundation wall or under footing?

Users who are viewing this thread

Steven Whitehead

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a plumbing newbie/DIYer and I could use some help. I'm designing a small house for my Dad in Idaho and I'm trying to sort of the plumbing details. The house will be placed on a gradual hillside, has a full (walk-out) basement, a main floor and an liveable attic. From a plumbing perspective, it has two baths (1 main floor, 1 attic), a laundry room, a kitchen, and a basement utility sink. My current plumbing riser diagram is attached. The DWV system will drain to a private septic system.

Here is my main question:
1) Should the building drain exit the house through the basement foundation wall (concrete) or through the basement floor/slab and under the foundation footing (also concrete)? In either case, I'd plan to use a sleeve to protect the drain pipe, as required by code. Also, as of now, I have no plans to put a toilet (or other plumbing fixtures) in the basement, aside from the one utility sink.

Related questions:
2) What are the factors that I should consider when making this decision?
Note: Because I'm on a hill and my groundwater is sufficiently low, the placement (depth) of the septic
system can accommodate either approach (or so I think).

3) If I end up routing the building drain through the foundation wall, I'll likely have to relocate the drain further to the left compared to where it is shown in the diagram. I'd do this in order to keep the drain below the frost line, given that the house is situated on a hillside. In this case, I'll have two 3" horizontal drain lines (one coming from the left, one from the right) converging on the building drain. What is the best method for joining these two lines at the building drain?

And finally,