Bathtub support loose.

Users who are viewing this thread

Tlhfirelion

Reaction score
Hello. When using our fiberglass bathtub/shower recently, we’ve noticed the support rings under the middle seem to have broken loose from the adhesive. So as you move around in the shower, you can hear and feel the rings slipping underneath you.

I’m on a crawl space, so is there any way to fix this without ripping the bathtub out?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Reach4

Reaction score
I’m on a crawl space, so is there any way to fix this without ripping the bathtub out?
You could drill some controlled holes under the tub and squirt mortar.

If the holes are made bigger using a hole saw, you could stuff balls of mortar into plastic bags and stuff them around the holes. I don't know what dimensions you would be dealing with. It would be a shame to drill a hole in your tub. I would need to devise some form of stop where you are not trying to control penetration by hand.

I am not a pro, and I have never done that.

Tlhfirelion

Reaction score
You could drill some controlled holes under the tub and squirt mortar.

If the holes are made bigger using a hole saw, you could stuff balls of mortar into plastic bags and stuff them around the holes. I don't know what dimensions you would be dealing with. It would be a shame to drill a hole in your tub. I would need to devise some form of stop where you are not trying to control penetration by hand.

I am not a pro, and I have never done that.

Thank you for your reply. The idea of drilling that many larger holes concerns me to be honest.

Some smaller holes would be acceptable to squirt mortar as initially suggested. What mortar would be best and what device would I use to squirt it up in there? Would it be best to have the tub filled with water when Injecting Mortar?

Am I correct in assuming that I need to surround the support rings with the mortar to prevent them from moving?