Baseboard not working after bleeding it, but others do.

Users who are viewing this thread

Theodore

Reaction score
Hi,
I have hydronic heat system at home. One zone. Boiler in basement with loop around the basement ceiling perimeter, with a set of venturis and Tees going to each baseboard upstairs and even to the 2nd floor. One baseboard unit on 2nd floor doesn't heat up. When i bleed the one bleed valve on it, water immediately comes out. So, no apparent air lock in the pipes. I'm at a loss as to what else it could be. The system has performed perfectly for years.

I suppose it's possible that some corrosion or chunk of crap may have broken off and clogged the incoming/outgoing pipe to this one unit?? Worst case scenario would be to wait for warmer temps and then de-solder both ends of the baseboard and use a wet/dry vac to make sure both pipes run free and clear. But I'm no expert at this sort of thing and would appreciate advice from more experienced folks, especially if it keeps me from doing that worst case scenario I just mentioned!
Thanks
Theodore.

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
It's unlikely to be a blockage.

But if the system has been running 50+ years there can be enough erosion on the mono-flow tee to the point where it no longer induces enough pressure to get adequate flow through the branch.

index.php

^^^think of what this looks like^^^ when the conical constrictor on the monoflow tee (on the right) eventually erodes to a more wide-open condition. There eventually isn't enough back pressure to force much flow into the radiation, especially for longer loop runs from the basement to the second floor, which requires a bit more back pressure than short loops to first floor radiators.

How big are the tees and many loop plumbing?

How big is the branch plumbing?