Search results

1. James L Gayhart

PVC Compression Coupling versus Slip Coupling

Reach, Slip Connector means using a slip junction between 2 pieces of PVC. I've seen on YouTube where a guy drills out the stop in a regular PVC junction with a Dremel so it can be slipped over and welded to 2 pieces of PVC. As an amateur I don't have to then worry about measuring...
  2. James L Gayhart

1 inch pvc pipe . Part of the main pressurized water line coming from the water meter. I've uncovered it and its about 6 inches underground when covered.
  3. James L Gayhart

I'm fixing a minor leak on my PVC water line. A PVC connector is dripping water just so slightly. It doesn't even spin the dial on my water meter! Any way what would be the best way to repair? Cut out the junction and place a PVC slip joint over the area or use a Compression Joint. In...
  4. James L Gayhart

Water Pressure Line Advice

Reach4, I'll look at the Menards website regarding polyethylene. Also how to install. I believer there are certain tools to enlarge the pipe and then put in the various diameter barb/clamps I would need? I was looking at the web last night and their was a video on using PEX. I'm assuming...
  5. James L Gayhart

Hello Jeff, I was thinking of eliminating all of the 1 inch elbow couplers and then just reconnect the water meter to the 2 inch line at ground level (about 15-24 inches depth) with regular couplers so the line would just be laying at the bottom of the trench I've dug out between the main...
  6. James L Gayhart

Hello Reach4, The water pressure hovers around 50-54 PSI when nothing is being used. Drops down to about 40 PSI if something is turned on! The town I live (Leakey, Tx) has only 428 people with a small City Water Supply. The term building/plumbing codes don't hunt around here so no surprise...
  7. James L Gayhart