San Tee Backwards

Users who are viewing this thread

jacksmith7

Reaction score
SanTee.jpg
We roughed in the plumbing for a bathroom in our boat house (pole barn) and the san tee for the shower/toilet vent was installed backwards. Unfortunately, I didn't notice this until I reviewed the pictures after the plumbing was all buried. Since this will be a dry vent, is there any problem with leaving it this way?

Obviously, I'm an amateur and I did this myself as there are no plumbers where this building is located. Any comments on the rest of the setup would also be greatly appreciated. I should also mention the two vents will join about 9 feet above the floor and continue through the roof as one. The washer will be dry-vented when the final plumbing is installed above the floor.

If I replace the backwards san tee with a combo or wye + 1/8, should it be rolled up to 45 degrees?

Last edited:

Nukeman

Nuclear Engineer
Reaction score
I'm not a plumber, but I see other issues:

1. The santee from shower to toiler should be a combo (or wye + 1/8)
2. The shower vent should be vertical until 6" above flood rim (or 42" in some areas)
3. most places won't let you wet vent a clothes washer

jacksmith7

Reaction score

2. The shower vent should be vertical until 6" above flood rim (or 42" in some areas)

Thank you. I clarified my original post.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
quote; 3. most places won't let you wet vent a clothes washer

Most places do not allow you to use the washer for the wet vent, but you can wet vent over the washer drain. The shower connection to the main line SHOULD also be a combo, not a sanitary tee.

Tom Sawyer

In the Trades
Reaction score
The 3x2 San tee should be a combo, the 2x2 San tee should be a combo. You can't flat vent the shower, you can't wet vent anything other than bath room fixtures.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
quote; you can't wet vent anything other than bath room fixtures.