Plumbing Layout and Sizing Input

Discussion in 'Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & ' started by everydayak, Apr 8, 2014.

1. everydayak

everydayak New Member

Greetings everyone. I could use some expertise. I am a heavy equipment operator and have laid quite a bit of underground sewer, but this is my first residential plumbing project. This is for a cabin I am building. It is being built in a remote area with no building codes. I do want it to function properly and follow standard practices. For scale the toilet is just under 5' from the soil stack.

All the best.

Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 8.13.51 PM.jpg
  2. jadnashua

jadnashua Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx

You have two S-traps there - the kitchen sink and the lavatory. You MUST bring the vent off of the trap arm before it turns down. Personally, I'd also run 2" pipe for the kitchen sink, and I don't see any cleanouts. The bathtub can't have the toilet running by its trap arm until it is vented. I'm not sure if the WM standpipe is correct, either...I'm not sure exactly what's there, but I think it, too is an S-trap. Not sure if the kitchen sink an WM may need a larger line, but one of the pros should know.
  3. hj

hj Moderator & Master Plumber Staff Member

Congratulations, you got the toilet correct. NOTHING else is vented and all those pretty vents are cosmetic and do NOTHING functional.
  4. everydayak

everydayak New Member

Understood, thanks for the input. I can see where I went wrong, back to the drawing board.
  5. everydayak

everydayak New Member

Here is another shot at this.

Screen Shot 2014-04-09 at 10.53.19 AM.jpg
  6. Kiton

Kiton Member

EverydayAK,

I think you need to adjust your venting of the sinks, but certainly the bathroom sink. :