Opinions On Lightweight Drywall Panels ?

Discussion in 'Remodel Forum & Blog' started by DavidSeon, Jan 14, 2013.

1. DavidSeon

DavidSeon New Member

The box stores around here are really pushing the newer lightweight drywall panels. I don't even see any of the traditional sag-resistant panels I had planned to use for textured ceilings; supposedly not necessary with the lightweight panels. I like the idea of lighter panels but I see a lot of complaints around the internet that they're more brittle, less flexible, dent and crack easily, don't block sound as much, don't snap as cleanly, etc. As a novice, I'd like whatever is the easiest to work with.

Any opinions on these newer panels? Are the professionals using these now?

Thanks
  2. JackWills

JackWills New Member

I prefer lafarage Gypsum, this is best according to me.. its fire resistant and meets with all your requirements.
  3. cacher_chick

cacher_chick Test, Don't Guess!

I have done 2 rooms inside and out with it. It feels a little different when cutting, snapping, and screwing, but I did not feel it was much different than working with the standard drywall. The reduced weight is nice if when hanging a ceiling by yourself.
  4. DavidSeon

DavidSeon New Member

Well, I guess it's a moot point; lightweight panels are the only "standard" gypsum panels available anywhere near here (other than greenboard and 5/8 fire rated). They can't even order the older, heavier panels now. So I guess I'll find out for myself what they're like.

Thanks for the replies.
  5. big2bird

big2bird IBEW Electrician

I used some this weekend. No issues here. Is easier to work with.(Carry)
  6. lmei007

lmei007 Member

Can anybody put a link here? I am interested to look at it to see if I should use them as well.
  7. dtherrien

dtherrien Licensed Building Contractor

Most lumber yards and supply places are switching to the light weight sheetrock.