Leak at threaded connection

Users who are viewing this thread

Jedd De Lucia

Reaction score
Hi, I am installing three valves in a new shower. This is a DIY project and I'm new to plumbing. I'm using a stack of Kohler valves. In the middle is a temperature/volume valve. Hot and cold inlets on the side and 2 outlets on the top and bottom. Below I'm installing a volume valve for body sprays. above there is a diverter feeding a rain shower, hand shower and standard shower head.

I have soldered the connections but the valves all have female threads. I installed copper threaded adapters with a short stub of copper pipe so that I could solder before connecting it and then solder the next joints further away from the valve, as the directions say.

I used pipe thread goop, or whatever it's called, for the threaded connections, not tape.

None of my soldered connections leaked (hooray!) but I do have 2 threaded connections which are leaking. What should I do? is there a better method of connecting copper pipe to thread? should I use a brass adapter instead?

Also, at this point what should I do? how can I get the threaded connection disconnected and fixed without taking everything apart? See pics attached. thanks for the help!!!

Final question, since none of my solders joints leaked, am I in the clear for leaks on those or will a bad solder work at first but fail after time?

Attachments

• IMG_0401.JPG
    IMG_0401.JPG
    80.5 KB · Views: 439
  • IMG_0402.JPG
    IMG_0402.JPG
    78.1 KB · Views: 454
  • IMG_0403.JPG
    IMG_0403.JPG
    74.4 KB · Views: 616
  • IMG_0404.JPG
    IMG_0404.JPG
    57.8 KB · Views: 421
  • IMG_0405.JPG
    IMG_0405.JPG
    70.8 KB · Views: 431
  • IMG_0406.JPG
    IMG_0406.JPG
    79.8 KB · Views: 430

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
1. You probably CANNOT disassemble the threaded joints without taking at least some of the copper apart. (I would have soldered the male adapters into the valves).