Installing a pump in a cistern

Users who are viewing this thread

kenn

Reaction score
Hello;
I'm replacing a jet pump for my cistern with a submersable pump and i have a few questions.
I have a 1800 gallon cistern (formally a coal storage room in my basement) i sealed it up and made a cap for the top.I've been using it for 15 years and it's been working pretty good.do to the noise of the jet pump i'm using (and it's getting tired) i wan't to replace it with a submersable pump.
This is what i plan on doing.
I have 1 h.p. 10 g.p.m. 2-wire sta-rite 2000 pump that i want to put in the tank horizontally. I'm going to make a flow sleeve out of 4" pvc and install the pump on a 15 degree angle.
IS THE FLOW SLEEVE NECESSARY, AND WILL 4" PROVIDE ENOUGH FLOW?
ALSO DOES THE FLOW SLEEVE NEED TO BE SEALED AT DISCHARGE END OF THE PUMP,IS THE 15 DEGREE ANGLE NEEDED?
CAN I PUT A ELBOW ON THE SUCTION END OF THE SLEEVE SO THE PUMP WON'T BE SUCKING OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE TANK?
I also want to hook up a float switch to shut the pump off if the water goes low.WILL A FLOAT SWITCH OFF OF A SUMP PUMP WORK?
I'm going to use 1" pipe to run from the pump to the bladder tank.
any other suggestions on switches,check valves,e.c.t. would be appreciated.
DO I NEED A FUSED SWITCH BOX FROM MY POWER SOURCE?
I know this is a long post and i would like to thank everyone in advance for any help or suggestions to my plan.
THANKS AGAIN KEN

Thatguy

Homeowner
Reaction score
CAN I PUT A ELBOW ON THE SUCTION END OF THE SLEEVE SO THE PUMP WON'T BE SUCKING OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE TANK?

WILL A FLOAT SWITCH OFF OF A SUMP PUMP WORK?

I heard somewhere that jet pumps are half as efficient as other types so a 2 hp jet would equal a 1 hp "other." For your sta-rite pump each 1 hp of electricity that you put in gives you 0.2 hp worth of water lifting power.

Depending on how many equivalent feet of straight pipe this elbow comes out to, it might drop your pressure some few PSI.