Controller replacement for 230v 1.5HP well pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

mudfish

Reaction score
I gotta get a new pump controller for a 230v 1.5HP well pump and reading the posts here it is a good place to get help. i'm a newb on wells.

The well has worked good for 25yrs. But now the controller makes a popping sound and won't fill the 80gal(20gal water) tank. The breaker in the panel box was not tripped. I switched the breaker off then on in the panel box and a popping sound from the controller began so i shut it off quick.

In the controller box there is a scorch mark at a second capacitor(?) and the spade connection burned/melted completely, above the red wire from the pump in photo. I looked in the pressure switch on the tank and pushed the contacts open and close, no corrosion.

It is a 6" steel pipe to 390ft deep. Red Jacket controller #52808, for a Grizzly pump model# 150CNI-12G18 submersible 1.5hp 230v single-phase pump. On the driller's report from 1998 the static water level is 307ft down. 14gal/min with 10ft drawdown after an hour. (I called the driller for a fix but he moved a hundred miles away.)

I'd appreciate ideas for a good replacement control box to buy? And what i should look out for installing it.

Red Jacket Well Pump Controller with 'scorched' caption, small   Jul 17, 2023.jpeg

Well Pump Pressure Valve( or ) and Flow Meter   Jul 26, 2023.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
That thing above your yellow arrowhead is the run capacitor. You could take that out of the circuit, and I expect a good pump to still start and run. You will want to find if you need a "deluxe" or regular. With the deluxe, the pressure switch controls a relay in the box, and the relay controls the power to the pump. On second thought, I am thinking your pump may be bad.

If you replace the pump, and this pump is for a house and some occasional yard watering, you might want to review your pump situation. A 10 gpm 1.5 hp could be a better choice.