Diagnosing the issue. Control box, breaker, or pump?

Users who are viewing this thread

Zebra

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to being responsible for our well on our property, and like to know what the problem is before paying an expert. I also DIY most home and vehicle repairs, so I like to know if I can fix it before calling a company I don't know out.

I do not know any specs for the pump, I just know it's submersible, and I believe 15' down.
It's definitely not the pressure switch, there's a brand new one on and we have to change it once a year typically.

The well is about 1/4 mile from our home, no agriculture use

I suspect the pump control box, but am not sure how often they need to be replaced. It's been almost 3 years since we got a new one installed.

The exact box runs around $260. My question is regarding the SFA. The current one is 11.6 SFA. I found one that is 10 SFA and all the other specs are the same. That one cost $60.

How can I pinpoint the issue with my ohmmeter so I'm not wasting money I can't afford at the moment?

Current submersible pump control box label:

1.5HP. 230VAC. 11.6SFA. 1 phase. 60HZ

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
10 amp box won't work with 11.6 amp 1.5hp. What is the problem? Pump not running at all? Clicking and buzzing? I can tell your pump is cycling on and off too much cause that is what causes starter box problems.

Reach4

Reaction score
( WOW ... the well 1/4 mile away )
She did not say the water was supplying that house.

To supply a house from a 50 ft-down well, a 1.5 HP pump would usually be overkill. A 1/2 HP 10 gpm pump would be normal.

Now if the pump was supplying water to the house 1/4 mile away, and the elevation to the house vs the well is significant, then a 1.5 HP pump may be appropriate.

Zebra, I figured out that SFA was your TLA for safety factor amps.

Fitter30

Reaction score