Water heater - external damage

Users who are viewing this thread

bain

Reaction score
Is this water heater likely safe and functional despite the external damage? I have a chance to purchase this extremely discounted unit, which would replace a 50gal gas Rheem from '94.

dG15tux.jpg

h9ZWLJc.jpg

heLiuXn.jpg

This is the unit https://www.menards.com/main/plumbi...spve2-36/p-1444452201895-c-1541513694149.htm?

Edit: I'm able to 'make sure it works' before committing, but would rather not risk it if the damage is in a bad spot for the tank.

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro.

That WH should be in good shape regarding that dent. Good deal, I would think.

So 26 years for the old WH. Seems about right to me, but others tend to be more pessimistic.

bain

Reaction score
The 26 year old Rheem is still working just fine too! I wasn't in the market for one but a buddy purchased this and it won't fit his closet. It was still wrapped in the original plastic when he got it, including the dent.

DIYorBust

Reaction score
Personally I would not use it. It's expensive to install a water heater and can do damage if it leaks. That said, if you're doing the install yourself, and it's in a place where it won't cause damage if it leaks, this could be your chance to save a few bucks.

Sylvan

Still learning
Reaction score
As a contractor, I would not install it.

Normally the tanks inside is protected by vitreous glass or plastic layer bonded to the inside protecting the steel shell.

Do you feel lucky that the inside did not sustain any damage to the glass or plastic layer?

If you do decide to take a chance take pictures and also ask if it is covered by the full warranty.

DIYorBust

Reaction score
As a contractor, I would not install it.

Normally the tanks inside is protected by vitreous glass or plastic layer bonded to the inside protecting the steel shell.

Do you feel lucky that the inside did not sustain any damage to the glass or plastic layer?