Treatment Recommendations, Please Help!

Users who are viewing this thread

mikebryan

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to well water, been in the house for almost a year, and am using the current system which is a culligan RO and water softener system. I want to purchase my own softener system, and the current one isn't really helping that much. The water is still staining the toilet and sinks orange, and when the water leaves the clothes washer drain it smells like rotten eggs. Heres the lab report attached.
Would really appreciate any input thanks

Attachments

• 700206.pdf
    97.9 KB · Views: 252

Reach4

Reaction score
Are you sure you tested the water from the well before the softener?

You only show 3.3 grains of hardness.
0.13 mg/L is low enough to be handled by a softener.

You show very low sulfate, so I am surprised by the rotten eggs smell aspect.

I might try sanitizing the well and plumbing, and see what that does by itself. https://terrylove.com/forums/index....izing-extra-attention-to-4-inch-casing.65845/

But yes, a softener would improve your water. Not the smell aspect, but the sanitizing might do that.

mikebryan

Reaction score
Are you sure you tested the water from the well before the softener?

You only show 3.3 grains of hardness.
0.13 mg/L is low enough to be handled by a softener.

You show very low sulfate, so I am surprised by the rotten eggs smell aspect.

I might try sanitizing the well and plumbing, and see what that does by itself. https://terrylove.com/forums/index....izing-extra-attention-to-4-inch-casing.65845/

But yes, a softener would improve your water. Not the smell aspect, but the sanitizing might do that.

I did the softener bypass valve let the sink run for 10 minutes then took the sample, would it still be softened water even with the bypass valve in?

Reach4

Reaction score
I did the softener bypass valve let the sink run for 10 minutes then took the sample, would it still be softened water even with the bypass valve in?