Tilted the new softener cylinder downwards while on stairs. Any problem?

Users who are viewing this thread

Asker123

Reaction score
Hi there,
This might not be a big thing but I am new to all this so just wanted to confirm.
My friends moved the cylinder from the main floor to the basement using stairs and they carried it tilted towards its mouth (where the fleck valve attaches). It was not like a complete up side down position but almost 45 degree angle towards mouth and when they were down in the basement they put it correct position.
Is there anything bad in such way of transportation. Like resin beads coming up towards mouth and blocking anything etc. Just though to ask how stupid it might be.

Reach4

Reaction score
45 degrees or a little more?? No problem.

Many softeners have a top basket where even a really big tilt would not cause a problem.

Asker123

Reaction score
Ok Thanks. On my cylinder. I see a thread for the valve to screw on and then a pipe opening that goes down. Does that pipe goes all the way to the bottom of the tank and resin is all around it. I do not understand how these cylinders are constructed inside. And how do they work. Is everything water/brine wise achieved by that single pipe going into this cylinder? Any material on how does the cyclinder work will be helpful for my understanding. Thanks

Reach4

Reaction score
The distributor tube goes to the bottom of the tank where the bottom basket has slots small enough to exclude the resin beads.

On many softeners the distributor tube is 1.05 inches OD, which is the same size as 3/4 inch PVC. On many softeners it is larger, and it is smaller on a few.

This picture shortens the height aspect of the tank a lot.

Water_Filter_-_Fleck_5800_SXT_Service_Manual_-_43359-01-fleck-5800sxt-manual.pdf_page_20_of_28_2020-03-03_15-17-45.png

Asker123

Reaction score