Static Water Pressure Creeping Up

Users who are viewing this thread

Kabra

Reaction score
I have a Zurn 3/4" NR3XL pressure reducing valve. I set the static pressure at 50 or whatever and it slowly creeps up to the low 70s. This happens even when I set the static pressure to much lower settings. Operating pressure definitely is affected by the lower settings so I'm thinking the pressure reducing valve is somehow defective. I'm not a plumber (obviously!) and was wondering if this is a symptom that is familiar to the professionals here? It's a three year old home so the valve is less than 4 years old. Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
How high is the incoming water pressure? Maybe you don't need a PRV.

If you do think the PRV is leaking, try searching for "RK34-NR3XL" which is the rebuild kit. I am not a pro.

Kabra

Reaction score
How high is the incoming water pressure? Maybe you don't need a PRV.

If you do think the PRV is leaking, try searching for "RK34-NR3XL" which is the rebuild kit. I am not a pro.

Incoming is low 70s which I would think is ok but no guarantees that's where it's always going to be. Having one seems like cheap insurance. I saw those kits you're referring to when I was googling and a brand new valve is about $20 more. It seems pretty obvious the regulator is the problem so thinking about just going to Home Depot and getting one. Only $73 and looks really simple to replace.

Reach4

Reaction score
If it is easy to swap, then good. I was suspecting that the rebuild would be easier. Your pipes may be fairly flexible.

Do you have a hose spigot that you could put a pressure gauge on to watch? Also, are there water towers in your area? Those tend to smooth out the water pressure.

Make sure this pressure rise occurs even when the WH is on "vacation" setting or off.

Kabra

Reaction score
I replaced the regulator last night and it did solve the problem. I put a gauge in just above the pressure regulator while I was at it. I appreciate your input.