Infloor heat question

Users who are viewing this thread

plunger76

Reaction score
I'm helping a friend remodel a bathroom. He would like to eliminate the section of copper baseboard currently installed. He asked me if he could put a loop of in floor heat under his new wet bed tile floor ? This prompts my question which is what is the best way to temper the boiler water going to this loop from 180 deg. to a more appropriate temp. for the in floor ?

Watson524

Reaction score
I'm not an expert so I hope the pros don't mind me answering but as one homeowner to another... my mom has a zone that's radiant heat in tubing under the floor of her master bathroom (and boy is that nice when you walk in there barefoot!). Anyway, it's a separate zone on her hot water boiler and that zone has a mixing valve on it to temper in the cold water and has a temp gauge right above the circulator pump to the zone so you can see what the temp of the water going to that zone is. The mixing valve she has doesn't have temp on it, just numbers 1 - 5 I think, so that's why you need the gauge to really know what's going into the zone.

Last edited:

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
If he's planning to run it at 180F, the best (and cheapest) approach would be to use suspended-tube (with or without finned-convectors, such as Ultra-Fin depending on what is needed) under the subfloor rather than mixing down the temp and embedding the tubing into the tile-substrate or using a plated-subfloor approach.