Grease Interceptor "Trap" Clean-Out

Users who are viewing this thread

jms87

Reaction score
What is the best PPE to use while doing the grease trap? I wore gloves and a partial mask, but the smell is still very awful. Maybe it won't be as bad if I clean it more often? Is there any additives I can use to keep the smell down, clean the pipes before the trap, etc?

Thanks

Goat

Reaction score
sorry to bother you im still learning how to use this page. my question is about a grease trap on a three compartment sink in NC. I was thinking I should be able to connect all three together on a 2'' line and connect them directly to the grease trap its less then a 30'' drop from the drain and less then a 60'' waste line from the most up steam sink drain to the grease trap inlet. on the outlet of the grease trap should I provide an air gap. or is it not nessesary sin im told its just for washing dishes and not food prep.

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
If the grease trap is setting in the kitchen I would connect it directly to the plumbing and set it up so the sink drains indirect to the grease trap. Put a p-trap with a proper vent or air admittance valve on the inlet end of the grease trap. If the grease trap is indirectly drained, there will be a lot of bad odor from the outlet.

The rules required an indirect drain before but with the new food code things may have changed but it depends on what your inspector says.

5-402.11 Backflow Prevention.

(A) Except as specified in ¶¶ (B), (C), and (D) of this section, a direct connection may not exist between the SEWAGE system and a drain originating from EQUIPMENT in which FOOD, portable EQUIPMENT, or UTENSILS are placed. P

(B) Paragraph (A) of this section does not apply to floor drains that originate in refrigerated spaces that are constructed as an integral part of the building.